I tip my hat!

A hat tip is an act of tipping or doffing one's hat as a cultural expression of recognition, respect, gratitude, greeting, or simple salutation and acknowledgement between two persons.
In Western societies of the 19th and early 20th centuries, a hat tip was a common non-verbal greeting between friends or acquaintances. Typically, two men (female hat tipping was rare) would lift or tip their hats to each other, rather than exchange words of greeting. Where the ritual was used to emphasize social distance, the subordinate was obliged to make the more elaborate gesture, for example fully removing his hat while the superior merely touched his.

I had no idea that this gent was touching his cap, all I noticed when I took the shot, was a poor contrasted image on the screen due to the bright sunshine. It was a pleasant experience when I later viewed the image:-it definitely added a bit more to the scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.