at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Potted Ivy

When Euan came home from work he picked up Ivy and said 'why is she so mucky?'...

In the morning we went and visited Katy and Seb to do some baby-wearing-enabling. Seb is a rather chunky 1 year old and Katy wants to take him to visit national trust properties over the summer, but she's not allowed to take a rucksack or a pram which makes carrying him a bit of an issue. I suggested she use a ring sling, and have lent her ours. We got ourself into the most ridiculous knots trying to figure out hip carries with my half buckle carrier.

Took ivy to the baby clinic to get her weighed because I foolishly thought she was getting bigger. She's put on 200g in the past month and a half so has dropped a centile line again- 99.6% of babies her age are bigger than our wee Ivy. It was very helpfully suggested to me that I could of course give her top-ups again if I 'wanted'. There's no point, we give Ivy as much to eat as she wants, she wouldn't take anymore. I'm pretty sure she just burns loads of calories romping about all over the place.

In the afternoon she played on the grass outside whilst I waged my war on dandelions in the flower bed. I've decided when they start coming up in the lawn i'm going to cut the leaves off and cook them. Might as well get some use out of the damned things. We then walked to the allotment with Elena (Elseanne was helping her dad in the office) and took my tomato, chilli and aubergine seedlings to their new home. It was gloriously warm in the polytunnel- Ivy got to sit about in her vest.

When Euan came home we went swimming. Ivy has learned that she can basically walk about in the really shallow bit of the pool (we have her in a floating seat that keeps her upright). She looks hilarious, like she's in a dogem car.

Dinner was vegetarian chilli, ivy smeared hers all over her face. She certianly appreciates spicy food. In defience of bedtime, we took her to the school in the evening (we were running late, so she actually had a feed in the carrier on my front whilst we walked) for a concert and an exhibition of pupils art work. There are some extraordinarily talents pupils in Ullapool. Ivy did very well, she slept through bagpiping and when he was awake she didn't make a sound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.