Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Wood Firing.

Doing a spot of back blipping for you all, I do apologise.

So I went camping on Thursday which involved us lovely four stoking a wood kiln with all our lovely pots inside. I only had about 10 so i hope they all turned out alright. Basically, imagine like a massive brick box with two little square windows either side where you could see the fire. you had to put lots of wood planks in there to get it up to temperature. When we were nearly there we used like a fire guard (sort of) to keep the heat in but still to throw planks in. So to know when it was done we had little cones in the kiln that flopped when it was hot enough. All very old fashioned ways of working.

In between throwing planks in it was really nice to look at all the flames. At times they created like a vortex where the air was coming in.

It was so cold though when it came to the night time and the camping bit. Even with all my clothes on which was like day clothes, pyjamas, and a onesie and my sleeping bag I was still frozen. So you can imagine we were all feeling bright and breezy the next day.


Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.