Onesmallplanet

By Onesmallplanet

Jack and Diane

I'd been looking forward to this event all week! I went to the last night of the Hidden Door art festival with a friend and I wasn't disappointed! There was art of every description including a bar, live music and a grand piano. It was interactive, thought provoking, strange, joyful, magical, funny and above all stepped out of the box in terms of how art is usually displayed and interacted with in a standard gallery space. I have a friend who was involved in organising the event and this was one of the things that she felt was important to get away from and I think they succeeded.
Once again it was hard to choose a photo but to me the people attending were an integral part of the experience ( there were some interesting overheard conversations about what it all meant...) It might be a bit cheesy to name a photo after a John Mellencamp song but I got that kind of vibe from the couple conoodling in the corner under the red lights, the kind of young hip kids that don't have time for anyone else but themselves! I was going to call it James Dean and Marilyn (they kind of look like them) but I decided against it, maybe a bit obvious. The installation hanging from the ceiling is made of found bits of thrown away items, rubbish to some! I thought it was beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.