Life's tangled skein

By atp

Cycle To Work Day

One of the good things about my new job was that I was going to cycle to work and back. Well, today I did so for the first time.

I learned lots:

- It takes about 25 minutes to get to work, just over half an hour to get home.

- I can get up to 28mph on the downhill stretch!

- If I keep going doing this, I am going to have to spend lots of time at weekends washing the bike – the canal towpath is muddy!

- My unitard / onesie shorts are rather less opaque than I realised. I don’t think any rude bits showed, but in the mirror I definitely saw some skin tones shining through as I got changed into normal clothes. It’s maybe a guy thing, but that was really unexpected!

- I cannot see bike surviving long if I keep doing that journey – I’ve already shaken off the mudguard-retaining bolt and the whole thing felt as if it was being shaken to bits!

It’s good fun!

Endomondo (http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/320700339/122779) tells me that I burn over 280 calories each way. That has to be a good thing!

So… will I keep going? Yes, I think so. I need to be a little more organised, but I did enjoy it. Oh, and I need to get the mudguard fixed too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.