Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Too steep, childhood memories and adventure.

Two boys cycling along the Water of Leith Path. Not sure why the boy at the back has decided to get off and push at this point as he has just cycled up Dene Path. Ah well, there's an even steeper descent just around the corner, on cobbles as well, quite terrifying, but at least it is dry. Perhaps I should have dashed to the footbridge to catch them.

It occurred to me just how few children I see cycling like this, with out adult supervision. I remember cycling out in to the country side near my house when I was about these boys age. No mountain bike, we had to ride bridleways and climb the steep ascents of the North Downs on 5 speed racers. A good way to spend the holidays. I have always tried not to wrap my kids up in cotton wool, but they don't seem to have the same sense of adventure I remember having when growing up.

The cycling on cobbles has reminded me that Paris Roubaix will be on Sunday. The bucket list challenge will have to be attempted soon. The adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.