Dad !

If he had lived he would be 82 today. ...But alas he has been gone from our lives for almost 10 years & I miss him.

From the picture you can see that he was about to cut a field of corn with his scythe which he has slung over his shoulder in a very relaxed & almost "cocky" way.  A  lean handsome chap with a shock of dark curly hair I estimate that he is 18 or 19 when this was taken, probably by his dad who farmed the land around Grendon Hall near Edgcott in Buckinghamshire in the 40s 50s & 60s.

Although he is gone I think of him often and wonder why he couldn't have stayed a bit longer. When I told him he had days to live & that he could go home or stay in the hospital - he immediately opted to go "Home to see the fields", which he did.
Even though I was there at that moment of passing I couldn't believe he really had gone from our lives....

Actually when I look around he is everywhere - the fence he helped me erect , the concrete he & I laid for the shed base & the hedge he split & took all the mess away..he was a great Dad - I remember him coming here when I took the lid off of the compost bin & there were 2 rats running round and round inside. We both had forks & kept stabbing at these rats before eventually I broke my fork & the rats ran away to the sound of cursing & laughter....

My Dad.

N & R took possession of their new house today !

Fine sunny day

450 days of Blipping

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.