at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

almost ethereal

This is Ivy peeking through some Organza we put over the new 'Ivy cave' this afternoon. (cropped using the editing software I now have access to as a blip member- thanks dad!)

We're in the process of making the living room more Ivy centered. In the process of going up is a wall of picture frames filled with different fabrics for stroking and a jungle themed reading nook. (The leaf canopy for the reading nook is currently up over our sofa and i'm sat underneath it as a write this- I think I like it more than Ivy ever will). Today we built her a downstairs desk, because even though she's too young for writing at it it's a good height for her to stand up at and she can play underneath it in what we've deemed the Ivy cave. I even stapled some velcro to the underside so we could hang toys up for her in there- altough currently we have a lamaze princess hanging up and it does look like we're making some sort of republican statement.

Busy day today- Ivy and I went to the allotment this morning to see how the seedlings had got on. Discovered all of my tomato seedlings have been decipitated- so now I only have the micro-toms. Was upset as I'd expected to see healthy flourishing seedlings. I only have replacement seeds for the hundred and thousands I was growing as an experiment- i'd planted all of everything else, so no interesting stripey or rainbow tomatoes for us this year.

In the afternoon we saw our friend Gunnar who has been in the Falkans for the past 6 months. He was very amusingly uninterested in Ivy- and indeed suggested locking her in a fox trap and coating things we didn't want her to eat in a mild posion. He has been struck from the baby-sitting list.

For dinner we had dandelions and pasta. Dandelion leaves are surprisingly good, very like spinach. Euan joked it was the first proper harvest from our garden- Ivy seemed to enjoy it. She also had coco powder and cornflour 'custard' for pudding that she wolfed down. After she'd gone to bed Euan and I had some too but added sugar to ours.

Ivy was crying and crying this morning, but then when she opened her eyes she cheered up instantly. I think she may have been crying because she couldn't see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.