Golden-crowned Kinglet!

Today was a day of new birds and celebration for me.

I went to the kitchen after getting off the treadmill, still dressed in my shorts, and spotted a chipmunk through the window. So, despite the chilly weather and snow still clinging to the ground, I simply grabbed my coat and camera and dashed out the door to catch a shot of the cute little creature. He ended up being the best shot of the day, but the one that made me smile the most came next. As I looked away from the chipmunk, I saw a tiny bird (no bigger than a hummingbird) flitting about amongst the branches. I followed it, did my best to capture a shot of it and what you see above was the best of the bunch. She was such a cute and fun bird to watch and one I've never seen before!! As I followed her, I also came across a Ruby-crowed Kinglet (a first for me as well).

Later in the day (when I was properly dressed) I stalked an Eastern Tohee in the thicket along the lake shore. Not an easy bird to follow or photograph, but again, it was a first for both Hubs and me. None of the bird images were stellar shots today. However; it was fun to find, follow and photograph birds that I had never seen. It put a little excitement back in bird photography for me. :))

The celebration was for our anniversary. It's actually tomorrow, but I'm heading down-state to see the family tomorrow, so Hubs and I went out tonight. What a wonderful dinner and decadent dessert! (I finally got my chocolate cake Anni!) :))

Happy weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.