Turkey Fest

aka. small town excuse to have a party.

Mr. Tex had to work at the festival in a nearby town on Saturday. No 1 son and Littleman went with him, so the other kids and I drove out there to see what was going on. There were Turkey's - dead and alive. I guess they have Turkey races, I didn't go and watch that as it was too hot and I was too lazy to walk across the town square :0) Country music played loudly, people dressed strangely (or is it just me that thinks cowboy boots don't go with everything?) - and I saw an entire family dressed in mossy oak camo?

No1 son and I practiced 'shooting from the hip' with mixed results and much laughter. I think I need a quieter camera though, in this case it was fine because the environment was so noisy anyway, but if I was somewhere quieter my camera would give me away, it is sooo noisy when it takes the shot.

It was very hot, and windy but I had fun people watching and the kids bought some Native American crafts, rode the ponies and bounced in the bounce houses so they had fun.

It took me about half an hour to summon up the courage to ask this nice lady if I could take her picture - and then I wondered why it took me so long because she was really sweet :0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.