Bridges

Whenever I see these viaducts from the train I wish I had time to break my journey and explore the area. Although it looks uninteresting it is full of history especially of the times when Manchester was at the forefront of Britain’s Industrial Revolution with the building of the Bridgewater Canal and subsequent canals and railways. During the 20th century both canal and railway transport declined and the area became fairly derelict. In 1982 the Castlefield area was designated as an Urban Heritage Park and regenerated and occasionally I have wandered around near that canal boat and enjoyed the vibrancy especially in summer with its outdoor bars and entertainment.
As it became a major canal and railway hub four long railway viaducts were built. My train was crossing the Salford branch viaduct which was built in 1849 and the whole viaduct from Piccadilly to Ordsall Junction is 1.75 miles (2.82 km) long and consists of 224 brick arches. The nearest is the 1894 Great Northern viaduct with the middle one being the Cornbrook Viaduct built in 1877 and used by the Metrolink trams and behind is one also built in 1849. The little footbridge is a replica and scarcely visible on the left is part of the modern Merchant’s Footbridge. (see in large)
(I'm afraid it's not very clear as the train window was dirty)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.