Caramacs & Monkey Socks

By AmyW

The Show Must Go On

The 16th April is always tinged with sadness for me, as on this day in 2007, someone I went to school with died in a kayaking accident.

Although I hadn’t seen him for several years before he died, it hit me really hard. I was already having a particularly crappy year, and the fact that he was only 23 and we were exactly a week apart in age made it a lot more difficult to think about and deal with.

He was a talented artist and guitarist, and had already recorded a few tracks that his family later put on to a cd. I listened to it a lot at the time, but now I find myself skipping the tracks when they come on my mp3 player. Even though a lot of time has passed, they can still be hard to listen to.

Days like these really remind you what’s important in life and put things in perspective. It’s all too easy to take things for granted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.