Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Yeah! We have the sun room back!

Tonight's blip isn't any monumental sunset, or landscape, tree or flower - just my sun room.

I am so excited because we have been working on renovating the sun room for years. When we bought this "dump", we had a very large deck with an all glass "sun room" - glass on the top and three sides with a hideous orange tile. The outside "walls" had a framed wall about 2 feet tall then windows on top of that. Whoever originally built the thing did it from some handyman's kit. The original owner also put electric louvers over the room to screen out some of the sun (since it faces to the south). But, I need to mention that the sun room was built on to the townhouse 40-some years ago.

So, we first started by reinforcing the deck that the sun room sits on. The deck stands above a sloping hill and is about 8' above the bottom of the hill at the highest point. The deck is about 30 feet wide and about 15 feet deep and the sun room takes up about 2/3 of the area of the deck. So we ended up putting up additional posts and beams to support the underside of the deck, as well as new concrete blocks under the posts. We then had our carpenter put a solid room above the sun room, since the glass panes leaked horribly. Once we had a solid roof above, we could then begin the remodel of the inside.

The old ugly orange tile had been removed, and ceramic tile and slate had been laid down. We removed the old benches that lined the outside walls, added additional electricity and heat, put in new lighting and a ceiling fan, then finally added furniture. J found these wonderful slate lamps and we put slate tiles on the square coffee table. So, it has all come together really well. All we have yet to do is install the air conditioner - which will be done tomorrow.

This view is looking to the west-southwest. Behind me is another smaller sofa with table and lamp. The view behind me is to the east, overlooking downtown Reno (see my previous blips). Oh, sorry for the dirty windows. I get to finish those tomorrow.

So, in case you haven't noticed, I am overjoyed that this project is done! This has always been my favorite room in the house. I always feel like I am outside here. We have a 180 degree view from here as well as lovely pine and oak trees. You can usually find me having my morning coffee out here. And now it is really part of the rest of the house.

Next time you come to Reno, you are invited to join me for coffee in my sunroom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.