SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

April 17th 2009 - A fine place to work

We were taken to a new farm today and were offered bananas from the off – I like this place already! We were taken to a path just down the road and were (surprise surprise) chopping weeds again! The morning started off slowly as we were only clearing weeds – although I did get this lovely shot of the sunlight coming through the trees. But then we had a new experience for a Galapagos farm, we were brought brunch. Chicken and rice with coke from the farmers wife, it was lovely stuff. The farmer wanted a mini English lesson whilst we were eating which I tried (and probably failed) to give him. The weed and Mora clearing was much easier on a full day and the rest of the morning flew by.

After lunch all of our flat headed out on a trek to the ‘Booby’ beach but when we finally made the beach there were no Booby’s to be found! I went on a bit of a hunt for them and all I achieved as to wreck my flip flops on the rocks. After a tiny bit of snorkelling I just chilled (or burnt) on the rocks until my dream came true and I saw a Booby dive into the water – it was so cool! But also unfortunately slightly too far away for a good photo.

We walked home via stunning photo points and stubbed toes but I carried on to town to buy new flip flops – they are a necessity out here. I spent the sunset on the rocks speaking to Tina before joining the rest of the flat to get tea in town. I had paella from the pizza place (logical I know) before most of the group headed to a new bar for us called Voqui. It was a fun night and we got to meet some English which meant an actual chat about football! The girls were perplexed about why this made me so happy! Headed home about one in the morning after a very good night with some new friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.