Ritual

I have a friend called Mark who, despite being a smoker, can blind taste a glass of red wine and name the grape and sometimes even the country. At best I can tell with about 75% accuracy whether the wine cost less than a fiver, more than a tenner or somewhere in between. Which is only really useful for judging how much restaurants are overcharging for the drinks.

Bearing this in mind, it would be foolish for me to pretend that my recent acquisition of a coffee grinder (a gift from my parents) and a moka pot (a gift from me) were because I can really taste the difference.

However, I love getting up, measuring the beans, grinding them, setting up the moka pot and leaving it to percolate while I shower and then coming back down to make the coffee. It's this ritual makes it taste better to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.