Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The 17th . . . Always a Good Day

This has been a very good day -- even though I can hardly believe it is the 17th day of the month. Is time flying?

I can hardly believe it has been 1 month since my November birthday, one month since Deb's new granddaughter was born, and only one week until the Christmas holiday.

Rarely do students give me gifts. I think that is reserved for K-12 teachers, but as this semester is ending several gifts have been given to me. Three beautiful pieces of jewelry: a necklace, a bracklet, and a brooch. One fragrant candle (not in the photo). Two handmade holiday cards, and then the book -- oh my, the book.

I have Lynn Truss's original Eats, Shoots & Leaves, but this one is specifically about commas and it is created and designed for children (well, not really). It is for the child inside of each of us.

I tell my students at the beginning of the semester that they will not pass the class if they do not learn the 8 comma rules (and know how to apply them). So at the Finish Line of this semester, my students know the truth in that statement. The student who gave me this is so perceptive and thoughful to have gifted me with this book.

I love Lynne Truss's words in her introduction, "Of all the punctuation marks, the comma is the most used and misused. Commas can create havoc when they are left out or are put in the wrong spot, and the results of misuse can be hilarious. This little dot with a tail has the power to change the meaning of a sentence by connecting things that shouldn't be connected or breaking apart things that should stay together." Truss's book is filled with excellent examples, look at these two:

"The student, said the teacher, is crazy."
"The student said the teacher is crazy."

Well, you grasp why I am overjoyed to receive this fun and extremely meaningful book. I will use it in every future semester. Tomorrow I will submit semester grades and then the term is officially over.

Thanks for all the nice comments about Bob dog on yesterday's page. We go again to the doggie eye doctor on January 11th and are hoping for another good report and a well-behaved Bob dog.

Okay, here at the "Fun-house" we are still preparing for the holiday.

Good night from Southern California
(where the temp reached 73 degrees today)!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Bob dog), aka Carol



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.