SilverImages

By SilverImages

Gloucester Docks

Relaxed start to the day as we're taking K2 to Gloucester to meet R. He's then taking her on to London. K drives to Gloucester so I put my feet up and relax for the journey, which is about an hour and a half door to door with a little bit of leeway for finding parking in the Docks.

It's been years since I've been here; came about 10 years ago to photograph a canal boat at the beginning of its journey transporting a load of cobbles to Goring on Thames. Photographed it loading at the docks and then at various points on its journey up the Severn, up to Birmingham and across to Oxfordshire and down the Thames.

Went to Dr Fosters, a pub in one of the old Warehouses - one of my colleagues from my days as a QS was quantity surveyor on the building contract so it was a bit of a trip down memory lane.

Had an enjoyable few hours with K, K2, R and friend J over lunch, chatting and generally passing the time away. No problem finding things to talk about, young people are so easy to talk to nowadays? I don't remember being so chatty when I was their age? All too soon it was time to leave again, K and me heading home, K2, R and J off to London.

Easy drive home again after an enjoyable day out. House seems strangely empty again.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.