Dutchoak's (not so) Daily

By dutchoak

The day the Matador died

Today, my trusted well-worn Matador wheelbarrow finally died. Its undercarriage buckled and broke off under a load too many of logs I was shifting.

23 years ago my good friend Peter gave it to me as a birthday present. A year ago he died and this wheelbarrow reminded me of him ever since every time I took the handlebars in my hands.

During its life it was upgraded with 2 new tires and -most importantly was adorned with flower stickers by daughter TJ..
I may decide to try my (so far non-existent) welding skills on it, or send it off to the scrapyard.

Update: blipper Chrisphoto suggested I give it a final resting place as a planter in the garden somewhere. I might just do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.