Historian31

By Historian31

The Trundle

Today Mum and I went to a big Antique and Collector's Fair at Goodwood Racecourse. I came home with 16 pieces of crested china, so I did well and at very good prices. I picked up 11 items for the cost of one that I saw on another stall.

Very close to the Racecourse is The Trundle, an Iron Age hillfort with extensive views all around. Given it was so close to where we were going, and very much inspired by Maski, I felt this had to be today's picture! In this view I tried to concentrate less on the views this time, and more on the ramparts which are still very impressive and comprise of two concentric lines of banks and ditches. There are two gateways in as a track passes through and the whole fort is roughly hexagonal in shape. This hill was a perfect site for a hillfort, but its past goes back much further. Within the main ramparts and a small area on the north side outside them, are further banks that formed a much earlier phase of occupation - that of a Neolithic Causewayed Enclosure. Looking from the middle right of the picture moving towards the centre under the grey bare trees there is a dip in the surface and as far as I am aware, this is a little part of this feature as there is a low triangular bank which formed part of the outer section of the earlier Enclosure. The South Downs contain a lot of interesting Pre-historic monuments and are a reminder of the lives and skill of our ancestors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.