Historian31

By Historian31

Cissbury Ring ramparts

I was going to do something different to what I ended up doing, but as the weather was poor in the morning, I went out in the afternoon. I also had to take my car back to the garage in Worthing where it came from originally for more work on the brakes and the ongoing oil leak. It therefore seemed a logical step to visit somewhere close by the garage and have a walk. So I parked in the lower car park and climbed up to Cissbury Ring.

This is a very large Iron Age hillfort with superb views all round, taking in Brighton, Truleigh Hill, The Adur Gap, Chanctonbury Ring, Church Hill, Findon and right round to Worthing and its suburbs. I am standing on the outer rampart with the inner one to the left. On the horizon in the middle where there are scrubby trees is an extensive area of Neolithic Flint Mines. These look like craters and dimples on an aerial view, and some are still quite deep. The area belongs to the National Trust and it is always busy with visitors and dog walkers. I spent well over an hour up there before dropping the car off and collecting the Courtesy Car from the garage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.