My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Rosemary for Remembrance.......

.............taken indoors as it is pouring with rain - no point in me getting wet!

I have two Rosemary bushes growing in tubs - one on each side of the stone garden seat under my dining room window. Nothing nicer than sitting there with a cup of coffee and taking in the fragrance of these lovely plants - or running my hands along the stems. The Bees love them.

I shall now put the piece I have cut into one of my drawers.

BOUI today concern this lovely shrub:-

1) Many years ago, elegant weddings utilized rosemary. It is the symbol of remembrance of fidelity. Sprigs of this wonderful herb were often dipped in gold, and tied with a ribbon and given away as wedding gifts to the guests.

2) In the Middle Ages, legend has it that rosemary originally had white flowers which were changed to blue ones when the Virgin Mary placed her cloak upon it while resting during her flight to Egypt.

3) It is said to only grow in the gardens of the pure and the righteous, - (what, ME! - come off it!) - and to protect people from evil spirits.

4) Rosemary is native to the dry, rocky areas of the Mediterranean, especially along the coast. The genus name Rosmarinus derives from the Latin words ros and marinus which together translate to “dew of the sea.”

The weather is not at all nice - cloud and rain! - temperature reading 50 Deg.F.

I really hope you had a great long weekend - and that you enjoyed that fine spell of weather (which we had) if you had it too!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.