Brewday - Tulip Mono

Up early to day as I'm brewing an Alt Beer. Its a german style from Dusseldorf. A copper coloured beer made with top fermenting ale yeast. Its the first time I've brewed it, my first stepped mash, and first time with liquid yeast in a "smack pack". Brewing went OK although the only way I have to raise the temperature in the stepped mash is to add more hot water from the HLT which resulted in a very thin mash which then did not initially filter clear through the grain bed, so I ended up gently pouring if back over the grain once it had drained. So some process improvements to be had. Will be interesting to see how it turns out.

So I was going to blip some part of the brewing process but spotted this before I started, it was not quite cold enough for a frost but the water had been forming on the tulips which are now starting to go just past their best

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.