I woke up at 5am on my own accord even though I didn’t have to be awake until breakfast at 7:30. I wandered around La Colina’s property and met some guinea hen’s and a rooster. I watched the sun came up and it was a very peaceful and quiet morning. I was skeptical about eating Kelly’s hippy food after the hives I got from her dinner the night before so I only ate the fresh fruit. I went back outside and was feeding a rooster when a marvelous cat walked past me. Sweetest cat in the world. One of Kelly’s volunteers said its name was Smokey. Smokey climbed right up on my lap and I was in heaven.

We left La Colina Lodge after breakfast and stopped down the rode at a bakery to buy some supplies for lunch before our long trip down to Dominical by the coast. On the 5ish hour journey there we stopped at a place called crocodile bridge. Looked over the edge to see almost 34 crocodiles, some tinosaurs, and vultures. Supposedly they stay by the bridge because people often drop chicken off for them.

The ride down to Playa Dominical was beautiful. I caught my first sight of the Pacific Ocean. We stayed at a resort like place called Hacienda Barú in these little huts (four people to a hut). Really beautiful place. It used to be a cattle farm. The man who owns it now, Jack Ewing, was hired to raise the cattle in the 70’s. Jack told us the whole story of how he ended up falling in love with the rainforest and becoming passionate that it should not be torn down for farms or hunted in. There’s a lot more details to the story but in the 1990’s it became a National Wildlife reserve thanks to his conservation work.

It was extremely hot by the coast. The first thing a bunch of us did was throw on our suits and go for a swim in the Pacific Ocean. So warm, so beautiful. Here’s a picture of Adam enjoying our swim.

Dinner was spectacular. There’s a bar on site so we sat by the pool drinking afterwards. It was also really nice to take a warmish shower for the first time the whole trip. (Note: I did shower at the other places but they were WAY too cold to stay in longer than a quick rinse.)


Quote
"She's young and the world's wide open."
-Jason Aldean

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.