Still Here!

By Yorkhull

A bridge too far for Barnsley

I left the Dales this morning in rain and mist, just as I had arrived. I decided to go through Swaledale, probably my favourite Dale where we went many times when my children were young. But I only took a few photos as I was heading for the football in Middlesboro.

I wanted to get a picture of Danny Wilson, who recently returned as Barnsley manager. I say returned because exactly 17 years ago today the greatest day in BFC's history was a win over Bradford which took us into the premiership for the first and only year ever. I stood with my the 13 year old son and 25 thousand Barnsley miners as we shared this moment. Everyone crying but nobody looking at each other so that they could pretend they weren't crying really. It was a fantastic memory and today we always celebrate it.

But what a bittersweet outcome to the day. We lost after a gallant fight and so Danny presided over our relegation to Division One. It has sullied the 26th April in my mind. But we will be back.

Anyway I could not get a decent picture so treated you to a last picture of the Dales for now, another bridge to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.