Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Spare time

So we've spent the day cleaning the playroom, unpacking (still), putting away laundry, with a dash of rosemary and nut popcorn making. A quick kick around in the garden and I'll be off to work...

Last night whilst watching Call the Midwife, first season which I've just become quite engrossed in having no knowledge of it til last week, there was mention of the workhouses. In such instances, I'll embark on a great deal of research to find out more if something's really of interest to me. And geneology and the early C20th is of great interest to me. I started to learn about the Victorian workhouses with little prior knowledge of their extent beyond what Charles Dickens had taught me. From there, my journey took me to the forced migrations to populate colonies such as Australia. Felicity Kendal and Barbara Taylor Bradford's own histories of the workhouses. The footage, the photographs, stories from the victims themselves, the movie Oranges and Sunshine, an utterly devastating part of our history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.