at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Straw Hat Selfie

I wanted to show off our co-ordinating sun hats :)

Went to rhyme-time this morning. It was packed. Ivy sat on my knee for the first 10 minutes before deciding she wanted wriggle off and strike out on her own. Went and had coffee afterwards with some other mums and sat outside in the sunshine- got a bit worried as I had no sun hat for Ivy with me, thankfully she didn't burn.

Had lunch in the garden- Ivy fed herself bagel spread with humous and pieces of smoked mackrel with very little parental intervention. Euan and I had our bagels, humous and mackrel with rocket from the garden- it's a recipe I saw in an issue of men's health once nicknamed the 'manwich'.

We went to Gaelic toddlers in the afternoon even though Ivy went for her afternoon nap so missed a chunk at the beginning- she played outside with Elseanne in a tunnel.

I spent a good hour 'playing' with one of my neighbour's kids in our garden in the early evening. The little boy has been asking me if he can come help me garden (i'm saving the task of transplanting moduled beetroot for him in a few weeks) so when he offered to water today I gave him and his sister a watering can and let them water away. I didn't manage to get rid of them after that though- I'd lit a barbeque and since they were in the garden I had to stay out to supervise. We did some counting, talked about sharing and set up an assult course. The little boy kept trying to persaude me to put Ivy down so I could play with him. They're lovely kids- it was just very funny how I sort of got stuck entertaining them for a while. I told them I was doing bannanas of the bbq and the little boy said 'i've never had that- is it nice' 'yes it is' 'okay, i'll try some and see if i like it'. So we put an extra bannana on and went to meet his mum to check they could have it. Very funny. In the end he didn't like barbequed bannanas (to be honest they wern't quite ripe, I didn't enjoy mine either)- Ivy on the other hand loved hers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.