MJCallaghan

By MJCallaghan

It's not life or death. It's much more important.

Ah, football. I didn't really like it when I was a kid, but then again I didn't like much back then. Birthdays, Christmases, Action Men. That was about it. But as I began to approach the point where sitting down on a comfy sofa was preferable to pretty much everything else, I found there is something very relaxing about watching 22 millionaires kick a spherical cowhide around a field.

Even watching Arsenal, a team that appears to relish in despair-inducing performances, can be relaxing if you turn the sound down and close your eyes. The key point here is that a football match does not require anyone's full attention, not even the players. You can safely enjoy it sitting on the aforementioned comfy sofa, and still be able to let your mind wander to the land where the Smurfs and Wombles play. Although that might just be me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.