Bringing in the May

Hope you have all enjoyed the first day of May. I did nt get up and wash my face in dew and I did nt do any Morris dancing but I did go the to the Clootie Well in Munlochy, pictured here. You may be thinking what is that as it looks a bit of a mess, unusual. The well, which dates from AD 620 can be seen among the rags and it leads down to a trough where the water collects and then runs off into the burn. It is believed , by some, that if you are ill you should dip a rag or strip of cloth (a cloot or clootie ) that belongs to you into the healing well and tie it to a tree. As the rag disintegrates so does your illness. However ,You must not rub or remove any of the cloots as if you do you will succumb to the illness of the owner. I did nt go near any of the trees which were covered in all sorts of things including a dress that ha been there since 2006, a few teddies , gloves, socks etc.
Mike and at least one other local blipper that I know off find the area rather spooky and they do nt like the atmosphere surrounding the well. So I had to be brave to get this shot alone. Nothing jumped out at me although I think I could have been easily spooked :)

Last night we had two hedgehogs rutting in the garden. It was pouring with rain so they were sensible enough to go under the garden table

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.