wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Strange times in Portland Maine........

First Friday artwalk......... And what a walk it was!
This is AJ Yarn. She was selling puns for a buck. So I bought one....."I was trying to channel Miley Cyrus but it wasn't twerking." She was adorable.

She represents a group called "Faces for Equality".
I will use my PC later to link it.

My friend Patty and I travelled Congress Street, (kind of our Main Street). We saw an amazing amount of strange things. There was a man in a diaphanous red cape selling "healing hugs" did not see how much however any price was too much for that.
There were street performers of all kinds ....magicians, break dancers, African dance groups, belly dancers, (I took a belly dancing class once. THAT is a story I will save for later) and street musicians. There was a young man ( I know this because his pants fell down and the gender was male) in a red jacket, pants and a gorilla head dancing to beat hell. He made a child cry. yeah I've done that. No big deal .
We saw art. Lots of art. We saw art with an H ......aht.
Saw saw really cool stuff and then we saw some god awful stuff. The art in the street was better than the stuff in the galleries. I did get a cool picture of Audrey Hepburn for my niece.
On a side street was a marimba band. That music was really cool. People were dancing and taking movies oh and little kids were taking money out of the tip jar.

This was the first time this year that it was warm enough to celebrate. . so people came out from under rocks...

I did stop by a gallery where an artist really loves my band and booked us for July 4th.
Last year my band played a first Friday. We were singing "Ring of Fire" when this enormous drag queen came up to us ..... And first let me state that there are some drag queens where there may be a question is she or isn't she? If there was ever a doubt, the platinum wig and the 2 day growth of black beard gave it away. Anyway she sidled up to Ingrid and said. " I'll show you MY ring of fire" in the middle of the song I choked. Seriously swallowed spit and choked. Either out of fear or hysteria I am not sure.
At that moment a bicycle built for 2 rode by us, driven by a person and I use THAT term lightly wearing a horse head and a white lab coat. On the back was a man in black with a top hat.
Yes I was sober, no I do not do drugs and no this was not a flashback.
Just my life........

Time to sleep. We have soprano rehearsal tomorrow morning.

Have a great night and or a g'day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.