Good 2014

Each year, I meet up with some university friends. We typically find a location - like the Cotswolds, for example - and we'll book hotels in a couple of towns and have a very relaxed weekend wandering about, eating, drinking and chatting.

This year, everyone was coming up to me. A couple of people booked into the Royal and the others opted to stay with me. I've planned a pub crawl around Kendal and booked a taxi home. On Saturday, I thought we might conquer the Kirkby Lonsdale Eight (which confounds me regularly).

Today, though, it became apparent that I won't be able to attend. I won't go into the details but pieces fell into place and there's a task that needs doing, which I'll need to take care of.

God, it was tough writing the email saying I wouldn't be there but I hoped the others would go ahead anyway and it seems they will. Hell, I might even get back for last orders on the Saturday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.