Loney Beck

This morning I popped 'round to see my friend, Ty. I'd offered to dispose of an old PC for him - recycle the parts, annihilate the hard drive - but I stopped for a coffee and a chat, too.

I've never been in his garden before and as we looked out at it from the kitchen, I thought I could see a stream at the bottom. He offered to take me down for a look and, indeed, there was a lovely little stream burbling its way across the foot of the garden. Just a couple of inches deep and full of stones, it would be ideal for little children to while away a summer's afternoon.

Ty explained to me where the stream, which is called Loney Beck, came from and then where it went after leaving his garden. Apparently, it runs under the pavement in front of the Sun Inn in Kirkby Lonsdale and, from the pub's cellar, you can feel the wall is cooler where it flows past. From there it goes down Mill Brow to the river Lune. Ty said that you can still see on the old buildings where the water wheels were that the beck would turn.

So, this afternoon, I popped down Mill Brow with my camera and I did find one of the old arches that went over a water wheel. (Oh, just realised that'll be why it's called Mill Brow.) However, there was a grit box in front of it and a load of scaffolding all around, so I couldn't get a very attractive photo. Instead, I decided to wander down to the river to see if I could see where the beck emerged.

However, I couldn't for the life of me work out what the path of the beck would have been from the waterwheel downwards , so I climbed down the bank to see if I could find any clue but there was no sign. I took this shot while I was down there, anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.