Chook

By Chook

T minus one.

The inflatable jack-in-the-box Santas in the hospital foyer have been disabled: lights off, and one of them up-ended on a table. Just as well - the insipid battery-dying muzak that endlessly accompanied their movement had just about driven me to warm up my kicking foot. I'm sure that the sight of me kickboxing* inanimate objects would have made for amusing security tape, but probably wouldn't have done my employment opportunities much good...

Nights done for this week. Six days off now. One more week of night shifts ever.

Tomorrow we're going on a four day bike ride with C, and B+L. Train to Sale, then ride round the coast back to Melbourne. Total distance 325km. Flat most of the way. Few hours riding each day, maybe stop at a winery for lunch, beach in the afternoon and hopefully some nice seafood for dinner. All my gear is packed up in my new panniers. J is carrying the tent. Pretty excited, although vaguely worried I'll not be fit enough to really enjoy it. I'm sure I'll have a sore backside most of the way... Taking J's old camera. Back on New Year's Day. Backblips to follow.

Thank you all for your messages on my 200th blip yesterday. Hope you all have a happy new year.

Speaking of wineries - told lies in yesterday's blip. Wine, not beer, is tonight's drink of choice. Yummo.

*My kickboxing skills are non-existent. I'm more likely to fall over than do damage to the target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.