The new town

A couple of days ago I wrote about my plan to go around Kirkby Lonsdale and take a series of photographs, capturing the town as it is now, in anticipation of some change over the next few years.

However, when I went to Booths after work with Dan and Abi to pick up some supplies I realised that to some extent, I've already missed the boat. The photo above is of the new retirement homes just over the road from the supermarket but here's the same plot just over a year ago.

That made me think about what's changed over the twenty odd years that I've lived here: the conversion of the back of The Royal into apartments; the houses built where the garage used to be on New Road; all the new buildings at school; the arrival of Booths; the business parks at Underley Farm and on the A65; the new houses off Biggins Lane (and the closure of that road at one end); and the conversion of the big bank on the market square into a private house.

It looks like a huge amount of change written down but it's been very gradual. That's probably an argument for getting on with my photography so I can chart the next twenty (assuming I'm here that long).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.