The Body Narrative

First, I got a clean bill of health from the Doctor this morning. Blood tests revealed nothing of any concern. I'm as fit as a creaky old fiddle can be - considering the tension the strings are currently under. It was good though to get confirmation of what I pretty much already knew.

My lunchtime walks are taking me out of the office for longer, mostly as a result of the fact that I now run into so many people I know, but also because I don't want to rush the engagement with the new people I bump into. I came across three lovely young folk today, sitting having a break together. The sun came out and Lauren here took off her jacket to reveal a colourful collection of tattoos. I asked lots of questions and she was very articulate in answering them. They tell a story for her. She loves them all, for different reasons, and cannot imagine ever having regrets about any of them. The symbolism is very important to her and she explained why she chose the designs she did, connecting her to people and places that are special to her. They all hold a deep meaning.

As she talked I began to understand the appeal and the compulsion as I have never done so before. It started to make sense to me. She admits the process is addictive and kind of expects to have most of her body covered in time. She already has her next one planned. We all find ways of telling the stories of our lives. Lauren uses her body as a narrative medium. She's a remarkable young woman. If you get to read this it was a real pleasure talking to you today. Much respect to you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.