Chrissie1butter

By Chrissie1butter

Clivedon House Taplow

Amazing place didn't have much time.....realised from the info pamphlet that the house did not open until 3pm so I thought I would take myself off to Reading which was 14 miles away.....( did the park and ride), spent most of the day trolling around the shops.....bit of retail therapy to be had.
I arrived at Clivedon house at 4pm....just in time for a tour ( 10 minutes)
This only takes place on Thursdays and Saturdays.....so with pot luck I scored.
What a fantastic place ( will come back for the day next time, loads to see)
The house is connected to the 1960's "Profumo afair" and fir generations has been occupied by the Astors.......
Part of the house is now a very exclusive Hotel.....if you were to stay in their best room
It would cost you £1,500 PER NIGHT.....ooooh that's steep, oh how the other half live.
Anyway if your ever in this area....it's well worth a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.