Yedameister

By Yeda

Said Cat

Then there was the Cat incident.

Not 15 minutes into our arrival home from DC, I was unpacking and thinking about dinner for the family when my sweetheart informed me that there has been a cat staking out our house for the last two days. I found this peculiar. He couldn't possibly have witnessed this since we had been absent from home. Even more strange was the immediate and somewhat shocking question that spilled from his lips: "Can we keep him?"

This is the first time I have witnessed insanity from a loved one. Really, who in their right mind would instantly consider housing a cat that is psycho? He even put Said Cat in the garage for me to inspect, which I instantly informed him wasn't necessary. As it rubbed its back against my daughter's leg, it pleaded loudly in its cat guttural way, but I wouldn't listen. I knew this cat was up to no good. It was obvious to me, but not to my daughter and her father. At least my son agreed with me and I held firm. Putting my foot down as diplomatically yet as forcefully as the situation called for, I reminded my Sweetheart that now was not the time to be adopting an un-neutered cat that appeared to have been an inside cat (someone else's pet), and we were leaving the next day to visit friends in New York for the New Year's Eve celebration.

Without hesitation or argument, Said Cat was removed to our deck, where he scratched and clawed our window for three hours straight. The tenacity of this cat was commendable. It jumped up to our kitchen sink window and verbally & incessantly pleaded for sanctuary. It was not until the Christmas lights were extinguished, the glow of the TV screen vanished, and not a creature stirred in our house that he disappeared. Said Cat returned the next night, poking its head up at my kitchen window. Be very afraid of any cat who begs this strongly and cunningly. Staking out our house, indeed!

We put a sturdy box out on the deck for him, so don't believe for a second I would be cruel to animals. The wind blew the box to the far back corner of our fence, perfect for any animal seeking shelter. Sorry, this is one friend we can't make. My In-Laws watched and giggled quietly, probably thought this is hilarious and couldn't wait for the outcome. As if this cat will win its way into this house. Ha! This is his mug. If anyone lost their cat, take a good hard look at Said Cat. If he is still here when we return we will take him to the Humane Society.

Not surprisingly, Alyssa has become Said Cat's advocate. She already gave it some water, but I told her that he knows how to catch mice, so no food. She thought of every angle why he should be allowed in. She even reasoned that perhaps Said Cat lived here first and was simply trying to reclaim his former territory. She was so calm and rational during our 20 minute debate/discussion that I was almost caught off guard when she suggested we keep him. She was just as cunning as Said Cat. Getting morsels of approval to piece together her client's defense...

And the cat came back the very next morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.