Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Symphony..

Rain.....

Rain falling on fresh wide green leafs, falling into puddles bellow, splishing and splashing.

In a deserted world I sat in the wet grass (waterproof trousers on!) and listened to the noises of a rain storm. I love this sound. My favourite place for it to be heard from is a tent, a cosy and dry when just millimetres away it's throwing it down. As I watched the grass blades flatten and then recoil under the rains battering I noticed the little buttercup. It was full of rain, teetering on tipping over. My shape giving it some protection from the rain, it finally dipped its head and then shed its tear onto the ground. How many times does this event happen? How many beautiful unseen happenings bless our lives?

I drifted off in a little daze, happy in the wet grass.

Ever since I was a child I have enjoyed my own company, I would sit and hum songs to myself in the little cubby holes that I found in and around the waste land that was nearby. Often in the rain I would find much peace and pleasure, watching puddles grow, big drips hanging off leaf ends and all the little bugs running for cover.

Mr Peters, an old blind man that I would visit when I was young, said I was an 'Old soul', come again to enjoy all that life had to offer. Now, I'm not sure about that, but I do enjoy it all.....even the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.