1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Absent friends

I visited the kibbutz cemetery today, to say hello to some old friends. Not a bad place to spend enernity, although Anat ( top right ) arrived here too soon, the victim of a terrorist attack.

Malka, Edna and Claire were part of the " English " group - which meant that they spoke English as their mother tongue, as Malka ( top left ) was born in Dublin and sounded like she'd just stepped off the boat from there til the day she died.

Edna ( bottom right ) collected me and 14 others from the airport in the very early hours of 15th September, 1989. She always had strong opinions and courage in her convictions, so wasn't always everybodies cup of tea, but she was mine.

Savta ( grandma ) Claire was the grandma of the husband/father of the family that take care of me when I'm here now. She never gave up being English either! Whenever I visited England I would bring her some " proper " teabags as the ones they have here tend to be rather on the weak side.

It was an unplanned visit and only when I realised that my eyes were going to do more than just water slightly did I discover that I had no tissues with me. Fortunately I didn't meet anybody on the return journey and have had time to blow my nose now.

Wow, we had some good times!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.