Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hemel Hempstead

Thomas and I left home very early this morning to get to the Hemel Hempstead Snow Centre where he and the school ski team were competing in a ski competition. In fact, only when we had really bad traffic on the M25 and I texted his teacher to say we would be late and the reply from the teacher was one of surprise, did I realise that I was an hour out. We were told to leave home by 8am and I thought we had to meet there by 8am!! To make up for pulling Thomas out of bed an hour too early we went into the town centre of Hemel Hempstead to find a bacon roll (for him) and a coffee (for me).

Hemel Hempstead has recently been awarded the dubious honour of being the ugliest town in the UK...from what I saw I can't say that that poll was far off. Near the shopping centre there was a duck pond where I took this photo of this swan, and that was the prettiest sight for miles. (Apologies to anyone who lives there!)

The ski racing was successful. The U11 team came first and the U14 team came second, with Thomas getting a medal for 3rd fastest U14 racer. I took many team photos and also of individuals getting medals but I thought the swan was more interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.