Lamp On The Bridge.

I like the look of the old Victorian lamps on the bridge over the river Cam in Victoria Avenue, Cambridge. I usually pass this way as I go into the city centre. Although the bridge was strengthened and repaired several years ago, I was glad to see the lamps still intact. This avenue is a favourite place for children as it is lined with 'conker' trees both sides of the road. I collected them myself as a child with my brothers and sister, then later I took my own children there. We always liked to throw something and knock them off the trees rather than pick up the fallen ones. Then they would be hardened in the oven, threaded on string for our matches. The aim was to see who first got a 'sixer' breaking six others. Health and safety banned it, but I don't think anyone takes notice of that !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.