Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: Dont try this at home.......

Too late, she did.....x

What is it about kids and dangerous experiments. They seem to magnate towards anything that is by combination a leg breaker or more likely, skin you.

I am doing the evening jobs, I see the old trolley being wheeled over. The children used to gather wood and stones from the field with this when they were much smaller. Before that, Beau used to ride in it. Being towed along by the others. These days no one tows the next. They are too heavy to pull one another alongl. How the dimensions of life change the goal posts . Now the children simply hurl themselves down the hill. steering themselves on a death trap ride. Its a little like running a trial for the bob sleigh. This is a beaten up bob sleigh trolley. Its wonkey wheels rattle on the concrete. I realise that its giving the children the last of its life. Its really a game of when it does give up. Is it going to be in mid ride?

I am thinking so. I mention to Ella, that we really have no time for hospital visits tonight. I don't want to watch the trip down the hill. I go and move the horse. Jack and I return to an upturned Ells holding a skinned knee. I guess the trolley gave up and ran its last run. I thought it might.......x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.