Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: Lifeline......

Jack and I have a mutual need to spend time with one another. I have no idea whether his liking my company is down to how good I can scratch his back. I suspect that on a how hot day like today, I think our friendship is down to who can keep who cool for the longest. Sure, he can lead me to a shady tree in the paddock, but I can turn the cold hose on. The cooling water trickles over his black coat. The absorbed heat dissipating.
I cover him with a strong Deet solution too. The flies bite his ears and soft underbelly.

He stands patiently, occasionally turning to scratch what he things is my itch. Horses would groom each other in the field in this way. Its a sign that he considers me as someone that he wants around. I scratch his back. He looks like he smiles and squirms as hepoints his top lip. A visual sign that I am hitting the right spot.

The fact is that Jack is and has always been my best distraction to a busy life. His ways make me smile. He just appreciates the simple things. Never demanding, never needy. Jack has the kindest soul, when it is hard to find one around. He cost us nothing and we owe him so much. A real friend.

PS: Andrew took this with my camera. Again, I post edited. we work a bit like Jack and his humans. I sratch your back, you scratch mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.