gabri(elle)

By elleelle

ATTAWAYTOGO BLIP

I am clearly running out of things to shoot around my house. As soon as I am well, I promise to find the motivation to venture out. Until then blippers, I am going to give you a special glimpse into my heart. Value it.

I have spent 14 of the 26 summers I have been alive at one place--- Camp Longhorn. It is a summer camp (not affiliated with he University of Texas) on a lake in Central Texas. I was a camper for 8 years and a counselor for 6. I feel more at home there, than I do in my parent's house (which they have owned longer than I have been alive). I was always the best version of me there. It was (and still is) my favorite place on earth.

At first, my summers seemed empty when I finally stopped going, but there is an alumni gathering at the end of every summer. I am already excited to go back this summer with my new camera. When I think of the beautiful things I want to capture in the future, I always think of different places at camp. Look for those blips in August.

Attawaytogo is a camp saying. I think it started out as meaning "good job," but it evolved to be something much deeper. I don't think I could even put it into words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.