MJCallaghan

By MJCallaghan

Adulthood

I recently heard someone, I think it was on the radio, saying that no matter how old they became, they'd never stopped feeling like a child. They said the feeling was so strong that they actually felt like they were pretending to be an adult, and that someday someone would find them out.

I listened to this person, and I had trouble believing that someone would say that out loud, on national radio, for all to hear. I certainly wouldn't, especially since this is exactly how I've felt my entire adult life.

I wasn't ready, or prepared, to start working, or paying bills, or dealing with bureaucracy, or raising a family, or any of that stuff, and even though I haven't messed things up too badly over the years, there remains the fear that someone, at some point, will realise that I'm actually an eight year old boy masquerading as a middle aged man, and I shouldn't be in charge of anything more dangerous than an Action Man tank.

Whoever it was on the radio, I'd like to thank them. Now I know it's not just me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.