MJCallaghan

By MJCallaghan

In Memory

Beyond the veil of darkness, say
The lords and ladies of the mind
In heaven, where the angels lay
My only brother you will find

Surrounded by the arms of love
Released from all his earthly woes
Protected by those high above
And free from all his inner foes

For now he shines more brightly, say
The lords with confidence abound
And those who mourn should seek the day
When grief is lost and joy is found

I wish so much for this to be
For love to have embraced him so
And if the same should befall me
To see my brother I would go

But please dear lords, let me explain
Dear ladies, if you'll please allow
The hope is there but doubts remain
To plague my ever-troubled brow

If only whispers could be heard
Or shadows seen where none should fall
A sign that death is not a word
That should strike fear in one and all

To witness such a strange event
Could of another realm foretell
And those who wish to show dissent
Should hear a story I will tell

A lady long ago did grieve
As heaven took a man held dear
But of a sign he did conceive
To let her know when he was near

A portent of unequalled grace
The smell of roses would arise
To ease the pain and help erase
The teardrops falling from her eyes

The tale ends here but in my heart
Oh lords and ladies of the mind
With some I could not bear to part
Unless some comfort I could find

My eyes gaze upwards to the sky
And plead with those who angels say
With wisdom and a reckless sigh
See fit to grant one wish a day

A wish that every grieving soul
Has made at some time one supposes
So while I still feel less than whole
I will await the smell of roses

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.