out of the shadows

By MrsHart3

Pearl's a Singer......

This is my beautiful manual sewing machine that I've had since I was 12
My mum bought it for me when I started needlework lessons at grammar school.
I remember her struggling to carry it home on the bus as a surprise for me and having to get my lovely Uncle Bill to help her.

I've tried those new fangled electric machines,
But I always come back to this one
I love the smell of it,
The rhythmic sound of it
The feel of it

Recently I have been helping my daughter to make a romper.
She has been surprised by the things I can do that she didn't know about.
I think it's good to surprise your children once in a while!
It's been a few years since I made clothes, but like riding a bicycle, it all came flooding back and now hopefully I have resurrected a skill that I'd almost forgotten I had!

The title came from a Noël Edmonds radio 1 show more years ago than I care to remember. He asked people to write in, (that's how long ago it was!) with the names they called things and why. A lady said she called her sewing machine Pearl, because......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.