Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Last of the Belgians

It's rained all day -- at times heavily. We went out twice, but didn't venture far from the car.

We had a long lunch at L'Esclop, a small restaurant sandwiched between the River Jaur and highway D908. All the food is prepared in a kitchen the other side of the highway. In previous trips we've sat on the outdoor terrasse overlooking the river. Today we were glad to be indoors at a window table, watching the traffic -- and our waiter carrying everyone's food across the road.

I hadn't had steak for a long time, so I ordered the entrecôte. It was very good, but I regretted not having chosen the regional specialty of the day -- chicken stuffed with mushrooms and raisins.

I discovered some of the French that was hidden away in a dusty corner of my brain, and was able to request a cork for our unfinished bottle of Faugeres wine to enjoy later.

Our second excursion was to the home of our friends C and J -- again. They invited us over for a cup of tea, some cake, and more conversation. It's great to have friends who live where you go on vacation -- especially when it rains!

This beer was one of two bottles that I brought from Bruges, cradled inside a pair of shoes in my roll-aboard. (They were still cool when we arrived, though a little agitated.) It's from the Brouwerji De Halve Maan (Half Moon Brewery), in Bruges. I savored every sip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.