Attempting trails

I got home from work tonight and got it into my head that my ankle was ready to try a trail. I didn't really think about it, I just fancied it. It wasn't until I went to put on my trail shoes that I realised I haven't run a trail since my accident.

I should have realised this - but bizarrely I didn't until I saw my mud caked shoes and remembered that in my haste to go to A&E and get home, I hadn't cleaned them. They sat in a box, covered in mud and bits of plantlife!

I felt uneasy as I put them on; they felt odd. But my sudden need to run a trail overruled the uneasiness and I headed out carefully. The run wasn't so bad, but it's blatantly evident that my confidence is shot. I used to be a speedy downhill trail runner, now I'm so cautious. It's to be expected.

After a couple of miles my ankle was tired so I headed home, bumping into Dode from my running club on the way. He's running the Edinburgh marathon at the weekend so I told him I'd see him near the finish line (I'm volunteering again like last year).

In other news, check out my review of the ballet from last night. Go and see it if you get a chance, it was exceptional!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.