From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Very soggy birds!

Here is another quickie. I am so glad I got my canal walk in yesterday. I just stayed indoors today with brief trips to the wilderness (back garden) to top up the feeders. I was alarmed to see Lucky in front of the house walking up the road from my 'office front room' window. I was going to go out and tell him off but the neighbours would see one mad old bird shouting at a poor pigeon and would probably call the men in white coats.

It was a busy day. I was doing report enhancements for most of it and the day whooshed by. Today was polling day in the UK and people were voting in local or European elections, or both. I've done postal voting for the last ten years to save going down to the scary school at the end of the main road. I'd sent my votes in on Monday.

Being a council worker, many of us work as polling clerks/presiding officers and also do the count. I was poll clerk twice years ago when I was young and enthusiastic. It's the longest, most boring day in the world. It's even worse if there is a low turnout because the weather is rotten like today. What makes me really sad is when an elderly person comes in clutching their spouse's polling card who passed away a few weeks earlier and they want to tell someone about the bereavement so they can be removed from the electoral roll. So sad.

As a poll clerk you often get blamed for bins not being emptied or the state of the government in general. Some people don't seem to realise that you - the poor sod behind the table issuing the ballot papers - are as much of a victim of failing systems as they are.

Oh well, never again will I do polling duty but I always encourage new employees to try it at least once to experience how it all works. Hmmmm...

Go large..

Track? Wishbone Ash today - Standing In The Rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.