Meet the Morgans

By familymorgan

Back to nursery today for Amelie! I had a funny feeling something was happening, pyjama day perhaps? I checked the date of that on the nursery email but no, that is the Monday we go back. So we set off with Amelie dressed in an outfit of her own choosing - a pair of pink leggings with three coloured buttons on each side at the bottom, none of which coordinating with the many colours of spots on her spotty dress which is stained with sun cream and a mismatched navy cardigan. I have no strength left in me to argue with her about clothing anymore. We arrived and then I remembered...one of the staff is leaving to get married and live somewhere else so everybody was coming "Dressed to impressed".

That was one if my biggest Mummy Fail moments. I mean, don't get me wrong, I'm far from perfect and I always doubt whether I'm doing a good job. But this, this was a proper heart in shoes moment. Amelie loves pretty dresses and dressing up, I felt like crying when a miniature Snow White drifted past me as I hung up Amelie's raincoat on her peg, revealing her orphan-child attire to the world.

I kicked myself all the way home where I distracted myself making a huge pot of chilli for tomorrow's guests. I also laid out ingredients for a chocolate cake Amelie was going to help me make after lunch.

Isaac had his milk then we had a cuddle and he fell asleep. He slept until it was time to collect Amelie which was quite handy as I got quite a bit done.

She came bouncing out, sans shoes, completely unbothered by my mothering disaster. I apologised to her and she said, "It's ok Mummy, not everybody was dressed up. And this spotty dress is like a party dress isn't it? Even though it's stained with sun cream?"

I'm glad she was unscathed. But I am not!

We had loads of fun baking in the afternoon. Amelie helped me measure the ingredients out as well as doing most of the mixing. Isaac found a measuring spoon which he carried up to me and insinuated he wanted to mix too. So he had a mix as well. It all got rather chocolatey at that point, as you can see from the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.